Dave Jones ready for ‘hard fight’ as sorry Wednesday lose again

IMG_7434

Sheffield Wednesday boss Dave Jones was defiant about his future after a dreadful performance from his side in a 2-1 home defeat to Yorkshire rivals Huddersfield Town left them rooted in 22nd place in the Championship.

“I’ve said many times before I don’t see why I should keep bringing up what I’ve done and my record. You can’t shoot at it.

“This season is a hard fight, it’s not a nice situation to be in.

“Are you gonna give it up and walk away? Of course you’re not, I’m made of sterner stuff than that.”

The result condemned the Owls to a second consecutive league defeat and means they have now won only once in 15 outings.

Chairman Milan Mandaric has come out with his support for Jones, saying that he still wants to give him more time to improve results.

Mandaric told Sky Sports: “I just want a bit more patience; give the manager support and hopefully he’ll pull us out of this trouble. It’s got to stop.”

But with their next three fixtures against sides in the Championship’s top half, it’s difficult to see where their next points are going to come from.

Huddersfield controlled the game from the outset, benefiting from an extra man in the centre of midfield which allowed them to dominate possession and dictate the tempo of the game.

 

But even Huddersfield’s tactical superiority couldn’t account for their first goal after ten minutes. Following a throw-in, Wednesday’s backline inexplicably stepped up, allowing Adam Clayton to pick out Martin Paterson, who, despite suspicions of offside, was unmarked and slotted home easily.

Town’s second came 20 minutes into the second half after a spell of decent Wednesday pressure, their only such spell of the game. James Vaughan won a cheap corner when he appeared to have little support deep in the right corner of the pitch, and a clever Huddersfield routine saw the ball fall to Clayton to pick his spot through a crowded penalty area.

Jones was keen to stress it was these individual mistakes made by his players which made the difference, highlighting a perceived mental block which was inhibiting his players when playing in front of the Hillsborough crowd.

“The last time we played here we were outstanding, and then we’re not. And that must be frustrating for everybody, the chairman, the fans, me, the coaches, maybe even one or two of the players.

“I think they need to take more responsibility and stand up and be counted, just as much as I will and my staff will.”

A Connor Wickham free-kick deep into injury time brought the game back to 2-1, but by then it was too late for Wednesday to threaten for an equaliser.

It would have been undeserved after such an insipid performance. After Huddersfield’s second goal, audible chants of “you’re getting sacked in the morning” echoed around Hillsborough.

When questioned about whether the club would be wrong to let him go after the game, Jones grew tetchy.

“Why should I have to answer that? Why should I get embroiled in things like that? I think you already know the answer to that.

“We want to get it right. But you’ve also got to remember that I didn’t kick a ball today and I didn’t make a pass.

“I have a responsibility because I pick the team but then I expect them to go out and perform and that’s what you have to rely on.”

Leave a Reply

